Category: Scientific committee

The Scientific Committee of the Platform is comprised of world-renowned scientists in the fields of oceanography, biodiversity and ecology of the marine environment, but also from social and economic sciences related to the ocean.

Julian Barbière

Head, Marine Policy and Regional Coordination Section Intergovernemental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of UNESCO

Photo Gilles Bœuf

Gilles Bœuf

PhD, Full Professor President of the Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle, University Pierre and Marie Curie (UPMC)

Laurent Bopp

National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS), Researcher at Laboratory of Climate and Environment Sciences (LSCE)

Photo Nadine Le Bris

Nadine Le Bris

Full Professor at University Pierre and Marie Curie (UPMC) Director of Ecogeochemistry of Benthic Environment Laboratory (LECOB)

Biliana Cicin-Sain

Professor and co-director of the Center for the Study of Marine Policy, University of Delaware and President and Chair, International Board of Directors, Global Ocean Forum

Photo Philippe Cury

Philippe Cury

Research Institute for the Development (IRD) research director, Research Unit “Exploited marine ecosystem” (EME) director

Paul Falkowski

PhD, Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics, Physiological adaptation at Rutgers University, USA

Albert Fisher

PhD Chief, Ocean Observation and Services Section, Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO

Photo Francoise Gaill

Françoise Gaill

PhD, Research Director Scientific committee coordinator, Scientific advisor of Institut Ecologie et Environnement (INEE), National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS)

Photo Jean Pierre Gattuso

Jean-Pierre Gattuso

PhD, Habilitation Senior Research Scientist National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS), University Pierre and Marie Curie (UPMC)

Jeanne Gherardi

Policy officer, Department of European and International affairs, Ifremer Associate professor in paleoclimatology, climate sciences

Catherine Jeandel

Director of research of CNRS (National Center of Scientific Research) at LEGOS (Laboratory of Geographical Studies and Spatial Oceanography)

Lisa Levin

Professor, Integrative Oceanography Division, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego

Camille Mazé

PhD, National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS), Researcher at Marine Environmental Science Laboratory (LEMAR), founder and coordinator of APOLIMER (RTPI CNRS)

Herlé Mercier

President of the Scientific Council of the LEFE program, director of research at CNRS (National Center of Scientific Research) and the Laboratory of ocean physics at IFREMER/Brest (French Institute of Research for Ocean Exploitation)

Marc Metian

Research Scientist at IAEA (International Atomic Energy Agency) Environment Laboratories, Monaco

Gilles Reverdin

Director of Research at INSU-CNRS, Researcher and Laboratory deputy-director at LOCEAN/Institut Pierre Simon Laplace (Climate Oceanography Laboratory, Experiments and Numerical Approaches)

Sabrina Speich

Professor of Geosciences at « École Normale Supérieure » Member of the Dynamic Meteorological Laboratory

Lisa Emelia Svensson

Sweden’s Ambassador for Oceans, Sea and Freshwater for the Ministry of the Environment, Government Offices of Sweden

Luis Valdes

PhD, Chief Ocean Science Section, Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO